Skip navigation

See how shiny.  That’s why I didn’t use anti fouling paint.  They kick up, so I’m kosher at the dock.  I’ll see how they do after a few days of sailing, and decide if I want to keep it this way for next season.

Blog# 607

I mentioned before about having newer, smaller rudders made.

A.  It wasn’t in the budget.

B. When I sailed Myrna again, she was happy with the original rudders.  So I just concentrated on making them a little faster.  They are not perfectly fair by Olympic standards or anything, but they are a vast improvement over what they used to be.  I can tell these rudders didn’t come out of the mold perfectly, and making them perfect would have required covering the entire blade with fairing compound and starting from scratch.  There is no time for that.  However, the keel for this boat is solid carbon and pretty much came out perfectly.  I took it all the way back to bare carbon, primed it and painted it.  That’s all.  Much more time in the rudders.

Blog# 608

And here’s a picture of me doing something on the boat.

Blog# 625

I want to include this because this is a fake picture.  I’m pretending to do something in this picture.  I’m actually holding onto the bobstay and pinching the boat cradle.  This is when Tif and I brought the boat downtown and she thought it was important to have a picture of me and the boat on this occasion, and I don’t like posing for pictures.  So there you go.  I fake doing stuff for pictures all the time, to avoid fake smiling.  I can’t be only person that does that.

And finally, here is a nerdy rudder story.   I went AMCO (Jedi Master mini builders in town)  with a friend on a random trip, and they had a top prototype in the shed who was replacing his new generation rudders with an older design from Finot.  By older design I mean 1985!  He tested the rudders with the new design on one side and the older, much larger, design on the other side.  And well, all I know is he’s putting the 1985 vintage Finot rudders on his boat for this year’s Mini Transat.  My guess is that although small rudders mean less wetted surface and less drag, they also stall earlier, and require more helm to control the boat in real sailing conditions, so in the end they may be as draggy, or more, and less effective.  It will be interesting to see how it plays out in the Mini Transat.

I launch Myrna tomorrow.

-R

Leave a Reply

